BeAFitFox

Clean recipes, Heart pumping Workouts, and Daily Motivation to becoming a Fit Fox!

Where the eff did January go?

Seriously, where did January go? This past month went by so fast that I completely spaced taking my 5 month post baby body update. I didn’t even take pictures or check my weight. Blasted.

You’ll remember from my last post that I wrote a letter to myself with some resolutions (requests, if you will) for 2014. Here is my update:

BE PATIENT

Can we just say that patience is not in my vocabulary? I still haven’t tried to run yet. Why? Aside from the polar vortex that is taking place in my backyard, my body is hurting. I’m still exclusively breastfeeding and this kid is getting all of my nutrients. My goal is still the same-to run the 2014 half marathon and even if I pee myself multiple times throughout, I’m going to do it.

SHAVE MY LEGS

You will be happy to know that I’ve stuck with shaving my legs. It hasn’t been more than once a week but at least I’m doing it. Matt is thankful. 🙂

BE NICE

This one has been harder than I thought. For the first week, I noticed that I did give myself a compliment every day but it was from the neck up. Nice eyes, Amanda. Rockin’ freckles, Amanda. Well proportioned ears, woman. What? So, I’ve really had to condition myself to compliment my BODY.

GIVE

I did the lazy giving thing and increased my monthly payment to our Bangladesh sponsorship by $5. We’ve sponsored a little girl, named Munni through World Vision, for 6 years now and write her letters and send little gifts each month.

Not enough. I’m still looking to give my time, however, Matt told me that I’m not allowed to volunteer at our local animal shelter. He said that I will bring home every animal that comes through that door. He is right. That’s the only thing he’s right about. 🙂

MAKE AT LEAST ONE NEW CLEAN RECIPE EACH WEEK

This has been fun! I sit Liam in his bumboo chair on top of our kitchen island and turn on my jams and he just watches and laughs as I make a mess of the kitchen. I’ve made black bean quinoa, Jamie Eason’s blueberry banana protein bake, and pan seared salmon to name a few. Yes, pan seared salmon is new for me. I’ve ALWAYS baked it. I tell you what, I’m never baking it again. Pan seared literally rocked my face off.

LESS TECH

This has also been tough. I’ve done better in the mornings to not check my phone first thing but I still continue to check emails throughout the evening and night. I’m going to continue to work on this-life is too short to have your face buried in emails. I sell cheese for a living for heavens’ sakes. Checking cheesy emails at night is not necessary. 🙂

TRY ONE NEW THING EVERY WEEK

I’ve done this and it has always been workout related. I’m doing the Biggest Loser’s 8 minute body blasts. Good Lawd. I’m doing Powercakes plate challenge. Face plant: check. I need to get a bit more adventurous with this one, though. Like try a lipstick with actual color. I’m just too committed to my Carmex.

KEEP YOUR FEET PRETTY

This has been a bit of a joke-my big toenail fell off and the others are flaky. Did I give you a visual? Excellent. Plus, the ridiculous amount of snow we’ve had I haven’t even seen my feet unless I’m in the shower. It’s flippin’ cold-I keep my feet covered.

WRITE A LETTER EACH WEEK

This has been, by far, the most fun! I write a letter or make a care package each Sunday. It’s a blast. I choose a family memeber that is on my mind and just write out my guts and thoughts and feelings and some mushy stuff. It’s great. I highly recommend this to everyone. Grab a pen and paper and write a letter.

DONT BE SO SERIOUS

Can I skip this one? Or take it back? This is a challenge for me-I’m still learning to just relax and breathe a little. Work in progress.

LISTEN

Again, another one that I’m really working on. Especially when it comes to Matt. He is interested in everything that goes boom and fast. I am not interested in things that go boom and go fast. He LOVES to talk about things that go boom and go fast and I’m learning to LOVE to listen to it. 🙂

SMALL THINGS MATTER THE MOST

Oh, have I relished this one. It is the small things. I love our little family and I love watching Liam’s face when Matt comes through the door. Liam has the most precious smile-it overwhelms his face-and to see his reaction is just priceless. I love the moments we share in bath time and reading to Liam each night. I love the moments where the 3 of us are lying on the floor giggling. This is why I’m here. This is why I live. For these small things that matter the most.

TAKE A FITNESS CLASS

I’m still looking. With my work schedule (traveling), I can’t do a during the week class and am looking for a Saturday class. Spinning? Unless someone sends me WELL cushioned bike pants, I don’t think that I can handle it.

HOLD HANDS MORE OFTEN

Doing it. 🙂

Have most of you stuck with your resolutions? Let them go? Changed them? Please share!

 

Eat clean, pump some iron and be a fit fox!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

