BeAFitFox

Clean recipes, Heart pumping Workouts, and Daily Motivation to becoming a Fit Fox!

Pancakes, Tilapia, Soup-OH MY!

I love to make my meals for the week. I really do. Call me crazy but I thoroughly find joy in sifting through old and new recipes, coming up with new ones, and grocery shopping to get everything I need. I’m hopeless.

Before bulk cooking today, I washed some of the world’s BEST and most CRUNCHIEST grapes and sweet strawberries EVER. Not going to lie-I hovered over the sink and ate about half of each. Don’t judge. I mean LOOK at them!

Fruit

Because my eggo is a little over 34 weeks preggo, I needed to make some meals that would be fast (all in all, I was shooting for 2 hours and finished everything in about 2 1/2. Well done me.)

Below is what I made to rock my face off this week!:

Pancakes

Coconut Almond Pancakes

*Please do not make fun of how badly shaped my pancakes are-my husband does enough of the making fun part for EVERYONE. My poor child will not know what normal pancakes look like. Smh.

2/3 cup coconut flour
2/3 cup  almond flour (meal)
1 tsp baking powder
Cinnamon (as much as you want)
1 tsp vanilla
3 eggs
1 cup egg whites
1 1/2 c almond milk
3/4 c applesauce

Mix all dry ingredients and wet ingredients in separate bowls. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and whisk/mix until well incorporated. I don’t have a griddle (yet) so I had to use one of my large skillets but I found that 3 minutes on medium heat on each side did the trick. Please note: these pancakes are NOT fluffy-they’re quite dense and flat (they don’t puff up). I love the coconut flavor that comes through though-YUM!

GoldilockScones

Healthful Pursuit’s Goldilock Scones

I’ve made these before and they are SUPER easy and SUPER delightful! I love to heat one up for breakfast in the morning and add some chia jam or a little bit of almond butter!

You can find her recipe here: http://www.healthfulpursuit.com/recipage/?recipe_id=6005607

Soups

Butternut Squash Soup & Cheesy Broccoli Soup

I posted about my 8 minute butternut squash soup (seriously, so flippin’ easy and so RICH that I swear it was made with heavy whipping cream………..but not.) You can find the recipe here: http://beafitfox.com/2013/06/22/8-minute-butternut-squash-soup/

I had a head of broccoli in my fridge and thought that I’d give it a try using the butternut squash method. I chopped the broccoli into florets and steamed in the microwave for a few minutes until it was semi soft (not mushy, though). I added 1/2 cup water, 1 tsp pesto, 1 tsp olive oil, and 1/4 cup shredded cheese and all of the broccoli into my blender and pulsed…..and pulsed……and pulsed until I got the desired consistency.

SmoothieFruitFrozen

Pre-made Fruit Smoothie Bags

I mentioned a few days ago on my facebook page that we had some cherries that were going to go bad so I pitted them and put them in the freezer. Today, I divided about 1/2 cup cherries into a ton of baggies and added 1 banana and a large handful of spinach to each baggie. Even though I’ve still got a little less than 6 weeks before the birthing action begins, I want to make sure that I have quick grab n go type items available for me so that I don’t turn to Toaster Strudels……..effin’ Toaster Strudels. I’ll start making actual frozen meals in about 2-3 weeks.

ShrimpQuinoa

Southwest Shrimp Quinoa

SUPER easy!

14 oz bag frozen southwest veggies (corn, black beans, bell peppers, onions)

1/2 lb shrimp

1 cup, uncooked rinsed quinoa

Follow package instructions for the quinoa. While that was cooking, I tossed the 1/2 lb shrimp in 1 tbsp coconut oil and a plethora of Mrs.Dash Salt Free Seasoning Table Blend in a skillet on medium high heat. I steamed the frozen veggies in the microwave for about 5 minutes. Once done, I combined the veggies, shrimp, and quinoa. TA-DA. If I wasn’t making a tiny human, I would’ve chopped the veggies myself and done it old school but I’m flippin’ tired.

Tilapia Slaw

Runner’s World Spicy Tilapia with Pineapple Slaw

I found this recipe in this month’s edition of Runner’s World magazine. Since it just came on the stands and because I don’t want to be sued, I won’t supply the recipe on here. Go out and buy the magazine or just open it to the recipe page the next time you’re at the store and snap a quick photo. At least knowing you did it that way instead of me giving it to you will help me sleep at night.

The few things I did change, though, was I used greek yogurt instead of sour cream to coat the Tilapia and I used broccoli slaw instead of cabbage/red onion mix because once again, I’m tired and didn’t want to chop for days……….

I also made Turkey Spaghetti but didn’t take a picture because it looked like brains. Maybe I’ve had a little too much of The Walking Dead or World War Z but I really thought that all of my pictures looked terrible.

Turkey Spaghetti

1 lb Extra Lean Ground Turkey Breast

1 jar Marinara (read the ingredients and make SURE that it’s only veggies, herbs, and olive oil-NO added sugar)

1 pack Whole Wheat Spaghetti noodles

Do I really need to type out what I did at this point? Really, super easy. A bit more carbs than you’re probably used to seeing on my blog but I’m freezing this and plan to eat when the contractions start. I’m going to look at it like I’m food prepping for a marathon.

Gulp.

I took this picture this past Wednesday before going to Yoga. It’s seriously getting harder and harder to bend in certain ways………….but I like my boobs…….it’s a little give and take. 🙂

Preggo

Have a great week, my peeps!

Eat clean, pump some iron, and be a Fit Fox!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Pancakes, Tilapia, Soup-OH MY!

  1. Jennie Gilbert on said:

    I really appreciate your recipe posts! They’re inspirational! 🙂

Leave a Reply

