BeAFitFox

Clean recipes, Heart pumping Workouts, and Daily Motivation to becoming a Fit Fox!

8 minute Butternut Squash Soup!

No lie. 8 minutes and you’ve got yourself some seriously D-E-lightful butternut squash soup!

When I posted about eating my soup earlier this week on facebook, I had a few people message me saying that they loved butternut squash but that it is a PAIN in the arse to buy it, bake it, and chop it up into tiny pieces.

I agree.

Thus, I rely on my trusty……dare I say it?……..Wal-Mart for their market side chopped Butternut Squash. Ingredients: butternut squash and nothing else.

bagsquash

Here’s how simple this is: Take the bag and stab it a few times with a fork. Place in microwave and heat for 3 1/2-4 minutes. Let cool for 2 minutes.

Then, open the bag and place it into your blender. Again, no need to use and dirty up your food processor if you have a decent blender. I added about 2/3 cup water. You can add broth but I didn’t need the added calories or sodium (Lord knows I’m “puffy” enough as it is right now!). I also added about 1/2 a tbsp of Extra Virgin Olive Oil.

Pulse until your squash is nice and smooth.

Then I added 1 tbsp Pesto. You can make Pesto yourself or buy it in the jar. Just read your ingredients (it should really only have 5 or so). Blend for another minute until it’s a nice consistency. I like my Butternut Squash soup to be on the thicker side.

blendersoup

Stick your finger in it and make sure it has the right taste profile you’re looking for. For me, you can’t go wrong with Pesto but feel free to add any of your favorite herbs.

Next, pour into bowl and enjoy right then or into an air tight container to enjoy later.

finishedsoup

See- 3 ingredients (well, 4 if you count the water) and seriously took 8 minutes. No excuses!

 

I know I just blew your mind.

 

Eat Clean, Pump some Iron, and Be a Fit Fox!

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “8 minute Butternut Squash Soup!

  1. Sylvia Terry on said:

    This is a keeper! I’ve never seen “cut & bagged” squash…maybe it hasn’t made it to So. TX?

    • Maybe not?! It’s in the Wal-Mart fruit/veggie section and is right next to the string green beans, asparagus, broccoli, etc. I LOVE it and don’t even buy whole squash anymore-saves me a ton of time!

  2. Pingback: Pancakes, Tilapia, Soup-OH MY! | BeAFitFox

Leave a comment