BeAFitFox

Clean recipes, Heart pumping Workouts, and Daily Motivation to becoming a Fit Fox!

Chia Seeds: Nutrient Power House & Recipe!

I’m putting the jam back in the Chia! That just doesn’t sound right…………

I’ve mentioned it before on my facebook page that I love myself some Chia seeds. They are a POWER HOUSE! Chia seeds are jam packed with antioxidants, minerals, and Omega 3 Fatty Acids. Did you KNOW? Chia seeds have a whopping 10 grams of FIBER in just 2 tablespoonse. Word to your mother.

Chia seeds are also gluten free and are a great egg substitute. 1 egg = 1 tbsp Chia seeds + 3 tbsp water (let sit for about 12-15 min) and TA-DA!

I’ve posted about making chia jam before and it’s nothing new. Oxygen had their own Chia jam recipe maybe a year or so ago and other fitness bloggers have posted theirs. One of my favorites is the simple: Blackberry Chia Jam!

Blackberry Chia Jam

Ingredients: 2 tbsp chia seeds, 2/3 water, 1 1/2 cups fresh blackberries (or try frozen), sweetener of choice

Mix together chia seeds and water and let sit for 20-25 minutes, stirring every 10 minutes or so to remove clumps. It should start “jellin'” within a few minutes!

chiaseeds

Then toss your chia seeds mixture and fresh berries into a blender. No need to dirty up your food processor, I use my cheapy ($15 from Amazon) Hamilton Beach blender and it does the job.

Blenderbeforeblending

Pulse until the berries and chia seeds are well blended. I like mine to be very smooth so I pulse the living daylights out of it!

JaminBlender

Add a sweetener of choice-for me, I added 2 packets Stevia and about 1 tbsp honey and pulse a few more times until sweetener is well incorporated. Remember-this is not going to be as sweet as your typical jarred jam so it’s not like you can sneak this one past your kiddos! If you want it sweeter, try liquid stevia or even maple syrup.

As soon as mine was done, I toasted a slice of fiber bread and topped it with half almond butter and half Blackberry Chia Jam! YUM!

PBandJ

Put into an air tight container and into the fridge! Enjoy!

completejam

Try it with strawberries and blueberries too!

You’re welcome for just blowing your mind……………………….Eat Clean, Pump some Iron, and Be a Fit Fox!

 

 

 

 

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Chia Seeds: Nutrient Power House & Recipe!

  1. Glad u posted this! Today is my last day of the detox fast and that sounds amazing about now-I’ve always done strawberry but might try the blackberry! Hope you are feeling/doing well! Love ya

    – Christy

    • Give it a try! I really want to do a mixed berry type thing but haven’t gotten the courage to try mixing them all together! 🙂 Feeling great! Love you!

  2. Hello! I simply want to give a huge thumbs up for the nice information you may have right here on
    this post. I might be coming again to your
    weblog for more soon.

Leave a Reply

