BeAFitFox

Clean recipes, Heart pumping Workouts, and Daily Motivation to becoming a Fit Fox!

Sunday Game Time/Prep Time

Yesterday afternoon, I pulled out my writing pad and made my list of items that I wanted to make for this upcoming week. This is the 1st week in a LONG time that I have absolutely NO travel planned. Nice. That also means that I’ve got to get my cookin’ on and make up some meals to freeze for the upcoming weeks when my travel starts to increase.

You’ll find that there are some people who like to plan EXACTLY what they’re eating per meal, per day, and at what time. I just like to be able to open my fridge and have 4-5 options for killer, clean meals all week. So, don’t ask me when I’m eating what because I don’t even know.

This morning, I got up at 7 AM and made myself a bowl of oatmeal with flaxseed and a dollop of almond butter and washed it down with a pregnant ladies’ dream of a Mimosa: 1/2 Pelligrino + 1/2 orange juice. Who needs champagne, eh?! ME. While I was eating my breakfast, I started pulling out all of the ingredients that I would need to make some of my meals. When you do this eating clean/prepping thing for a while, you’ll find that you already have MOST of the ingredients in your pantry (i.e. rolled oats, flaxseed, chia seeds, almond flour, protein powder, eggs, almonds, almond butter, egg whites, ground turkey breast, black beans, almond milk and much more!)

Before 10 AM, I made the following:

Turkey/Black Bean/Salsa

TurkeySalsaIngredient

TurkeyBeanSalsa

I’ve shown this before and it can’t get any easier. Brown 1 lb extra lean ground turkey breast, add in 1 container salsa, and 1 can black beans (rinse the beans in a colander first), let simmer for about 10 minutes and TA-DA! One of my favorite meals! Since I’m making a lot of meals this week, I divided up the turkey mixture into containers and once cooled, placed in the freezer!

Tuna Salad

TunaIngredients

I keep it pretty simple and mix in all of the ingredients above (6 oz 0% Plain Greek yogurt, about 1/2 cup horseradish mustard, the tuna, chopped up about 6 pickles, 2 egg whites, and 1 apple)

TunaSalad

My favorite way to eat this tuna is taking 1 slice fiber bread or whole wheat bread and spread hummus on it, toss a handful of spinach on top of the hummus, and a huge helping of the tuna and eat it as an open faced sandwich! For a snack, I’ll dip carrots in it or pita chips.

Cinnamon Quinoa

CinnQuinoaIngredients

Cinnamon Quinoa is VERY easy to make and is a nice change from the typical oatmeal or steel cut oats. It is a different consistency so you have to get used to it. I’m not partial to white Quinoa (red and black are fine), it’s just what I had in my pantry.

In a saucepan bring 1 cup unsweetened almond milk and 1/2 cup rinsed quinoa to a boil. Reduce to a simmer and add in as much cinnamon and vanilla extract as you like. Let simmer for about 15 minutes or until most of the liquid is absorbed. This makes 2 servings so I divided it up into 2 separate containers, added 1 tbsp ground chia seeds and a dollop of almond butter!

CinnamonQuinoa

Baked Pumpkin Oatmeal

BakedPumpkinOatmealMuffins

This is a recipe that I’ve used before from Sprint 2 the Table and I love it. She calls this her Sweet Potato Baked Oatmeal but I use pumpkin instead of mashed sweet potato. You can find the recipe here:http://www.sprint2thetable.com/2013/01/sweet-potato-baked-oatmeal/

Pumpkin Bran Muffins

2 cups whole wheat flour
2 cups wheat bran
2 tbsp baking soda
2 tbsp flaxseed meal
1 tsp sea salt
1/2 cup Sucanat or sweetener of choice

Add in all of the dry ingredients above and mix well.

Mix the following wet ingredients together then add to the dry mixture: 2 cups almond milk, 1 1/2 cups pumpkin or unsweetened applesauce, 1 egg until well incorporated. At this point, I usually add a bit more cinnamon and a little vanilla extract.

PumpkinBranMuffins

This will make about 18 muffins. Bake at 425 for 18-20 minutes. Once cooled, I placed all of these in a large freezer bag and froze all of them. They’re perfect to pull out, nuke for 30 seconds and enjoy! They’re very dense and not too terribly sweet which is what I like in a breakfast! Feel free to add some liquid sweetener or more sweetener of your choice. My favorite way to eat these is with a little bit of honey.

BranMuffins

At this point, I wrapped things up, met a good friend for coffee and chit chat then hit up the grocery store to buy the ingredients I needed to finish the rest of my meals!

Chickpea/Ginger/Craisin Salad

Chickpea,Cherry,Ginger Salad

This salad is trippy but oh so good! I found it in my Runner’s World magazine many moons ago and just love it. It is VERY different and jam packed full of fun flavors. I made a few tweeks and this is what I like:

Combine the following: 1 15 oz can chickpeas (rinsed), 1 11 oz can mandarin oranges, 1/4 diced red onion, 1 clove minced garlic, 1 tbsp minced ginger, 2/3 cup chopped pecans, 2/3 cup craisins (the recipe calls for tart dried cherries but I always have craisins on hand and used that instead), 1 minced jalapeno, and 3 oz feta. Whisk together 2 tbsp each of apple cider vinegar and olive oil; add salt and pepper to taste. Pour over chickpea salad and mix well (I threw everything in a large container and shook the living daylights out of it.) It’s a bright beautiful salad!

Autumn Sprout Mix

Autumn Sprout Mix

This is a recipe adapted from Women’s Health Magazine almost a year ago. I didn’t like it much the first time and ended up making some changes and now I really like it! Give it a shot:

Take 1 package brussel sprouts and remove stems and halve. Take 1 sweet potato and cube it. Add both the sprouts and sweet potato on a large baking shake, spritz with olive oil and roast for 30 minutes at 350 degrees. Flip the veggies halfway through! Once done, remove and let cool. Meanwhile, in a large container toss 1/3 cup roasted, unsalted pistachios, 2 oz feta, 1 pear chopped, 3 tbsp balsamic vinegar, and 3 tbsp yellow mustard. Add in the sprouts and potatoes and toss all of the ingredients together (once again, I jsut put the lid on it and shook the ever living daylights out of it until well mixed!)

Jerk Shrimp Stir-Fry

JerkShrimp

Please note: my pictures just plain suck. I use my blackberry and it is terrible. One day……one day, I will be cool enough to have something with an Apple icon on it.

I was dying to try this recipe when I found it while flipping through this month’s Runner’s World magazine. I made slight alterations to it based on what I know I like and ended up with a delicious dish!

In a large bowl, toss 1 lb peeled shrimp (I used tiger shrimp) and 2 tbsp jerk seasoning (I used Caveman’s rub-more spicy). Heat a wok or large saucepan over medium-high heat, add in 1 tbsp olive oil, and cook the shrimp for 3 minutes. Remove and set the shrimp aside. Add 1 thinly sliced sweet potato to the wok (I swear I used a sweet potato but it was the whitest sweet potato that I have ever seen). Cook the potato for about 4 minues then add in 1 15 oz can drained and rinsed black beans, 3 sliced garlic cloves, and 1 jalapeno. Toss for 1-2 minutes. Add the shrimp back in along with 1/4 cup orange juice and let heat for another minute. YUM!

Goldilock Scones

One of my favorite vegan, dairy free, gluten free woman is Leanne from Healthful Pursuit. I’ve made some of her recipes in the past and was most excited to try this one and LOVE IT!.

Ogden-20130407-00518

I can’t shape the scones as well as she did but don’t judge. My husband laughed at me enough for everyone.

You can find the recipe here: http://www.healthfulpursuit.com/recipage/?recipe_id=6005607

As far as snacks go, I’ve got the following for this week: bananas, Asian pears, almonds, pistachios, cherry tomatoes, greek yogurt, and low fat cottage cheese and I’ll be nursing my Pelligrino with a straw.

It’s all about the planning, my peeps. Cook on………cook on………..

 

 

Eat Clean, Pump some Iron, and be a Fit Fox!

 

 

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

