BeAFitFox

Clean recipes, Heart pumping Workouts, and Daily Motivation to becoming a Fit Fox!

Married to a Dirty Eater

Do me a HUGE favor and when you say “dirty” say it like 50 Cent.

I thought that I would celebrate Valentine’s Day by sharing with you my husbands faults, terrible  eating habits. Throughout my journey of clean eating, I’ve heard so many people say, “I can’t eat clean because my kids don’t like it or my husband doesn’t like what I make or I have to keep treats around the house, etc, etc.” Here’s my answer: Yes, you can eat clean REGARDLESS of who and how many dirty eaters live with you.

Case in point: my life. I married my husband 4 1/2 years ago KNOWING full well that he was a dirty eater. That said, he married me KNOWING full well that I was a wannabe clean eater. And somehow we co exist. 🙂

My husband keeps the following in the pantry at ALL times: Maple & Brown Sugar mini wheats cereal, Flavor Blasted goldfish, Starbursts, Peanut Butter M&Ms, Mike & Ikes, Sour Patch Kids, Hot Tamales, Jalapeno Chips, cinnamon streusel muffin mix, lots and lots of cheese, Monster Rehabs, Ramen noodles, & Hamburger Helper. And I’m pretty sure that I’ve missed a few.

Do I WANT to eat some of his food? Good heavens, YES! But I don’t. I just don’t. Have I before? Of course (we call it when “flow” visits) I wish that I could tell you what my secret is or what crazy pill I’m poppin’ to turn my head away from M&Ms but I don’t know what to tell you. All I know is that my body (namely my GI tract) remains happy when I eat my staples: tuna, greek yogurt, turkey breast, veggies, bananas, my smoothies, oats, and more.

I don’t touch his food and he sure as heck doesn’t touch my food (he even makes gag noises sometimes-who did I marry?).

How do we live so harmoniously?

We still cook together side by side. On my side of the stove, I’m usually browning some ground turkey breast, baking fish, or boiling quinoa and some veggies. He’s right by my side making hamburger helper or nuking his noodles. We make it work.

About 3 nights out the week, we do eat the same meals. I’ll do a brisket with vegetables in the slow cooker. When it’s time to eat, I scoop out the veggies and some of the meat for me then pour close to an ENTIRE bottle of BBQ sauce for him. (Where is that wife of the year award that I’ve been waiting for?)

We’ll make a pork tenderloin and I’ll steam some broccoli (for me) and some corn (for my husband). We’ll also do baked chicken with wheat noodles (he does eat the wheat noodles so I’ll give him that) and clean marinara sauce.

Have I stood on my high horse and preached to him about the hurtful things that he’s done to his body by eating those foods and why mine are so much better? Of course I have but that just led to fighting and an awkward evening together. I learned that he is happy with his food and I am happy with mine and we are happy together.

I continue to tell myself that as long as he looks good naked as long as his health assessments each year come back great, I can’t complain. I do secretly hope that his fast metabolism will come to a screeching halt when he hits his mid thirties so that I can point and laugh and say I told you so. 🙂

I married a dirty eater and I love him more each and every day. Happy Valentine’s Day to you!

vegasus

 

Eat clean, pump some iron, and be a Fit Fox!

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Married to a Dirty Eater

  1. What Clean Marinara sauce do you use? The boys love pasta, and I’d love to switch to a clean sauce!

    • Oh my heavens-so sorry for the delay-I didn’t even realize you had asked this! We use Rocco Dispirito’s Clean Marinara recipe. I have his book but I googled his recipe and found it here: http://abcnews.go.com/GMA/recipe?id=9533982. We usually leave out the parm just because Matt likes to sprinkle it on top and not in the sauce. If we’re pressed for time, we just use tomato sauce and add garlic and tons of seasoning!

  2. That’s ExActly how my husband is! Well, not too much sweets but he loooves fried food(ew!). I sometimes succumb to his wants for food and eat the same thing, but i shouldnt. THANKS soo much for the encouragement!!!:)

  3. Cute post! I can relate to this, only I’ve pretty much turned my hubby over to the healthy side 😉 My hubby ate such gross food when we met – he used to live off of ramen noodles and cooked pasta in the microwave – who does that?! – but now he enjoys my healthy dinners and frequently asks, “Is this good for me?” I love it!

  4. Cute post! I can relate to this, only I’ve pretty much turned my hubby over to healthy side 😉 When we met he was living off of ramen noodles and cooked pasta in the microwave (Who does that?). Now, he eats all of my healthy dinners and frequently asks, “Is this good for me?” I love it!

  5. Cute post! I can relate to this, only I’ve somehow managed to turn my hubby over to healthy side 😉 When we met he was living off of ramen noodles and cooked pasta in the microwave (Who does that?). Now, he eats all of my healthy dinners and frequently asks, “Is this good for me?” I love it!

Leave a Reply

