BeAFitFox

Clean recipes, Heart pumping Workouts, and Daily Motivation to becoming a Fit Fox!

Almond & Chocolate/PB Baked Oatmeal

I found myself this past Tuesday evening wanting to make oatmeal but not really wanting to put forth the effort (like making oatmeal really takes effort?!). As I was digging out a bowl, I saw my still boxed 4 pack of Ramekins. I didn’t even remember buying these. Obviously, I had grand intentions of making creme brulee (hilarious).

After blowing off the dust, I decided to try and make a form of baked oatmeal.

I started out by placing 1/2 cup of old fashioned rolled oats in the bottom of each ramekin. After doing so, I quickly realized that attempting to mix this concoction in a tiny ramekin would result in a well deserved mess. None the less, I decided to try anyway and came up with these:

Ogden-20130129-00385

Almond Baked Oatmeal

Coat the bottom and sides of a ramekin with coconut oil or non stick cooking spray. Place 1/2 cup old fashioned rolled oats in the base. Add the following: 1/4 cup unsweetened almond milk, 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce, 1 tsp cinnamon, 1 heaping tbsp flaxseed meal (ground flaxseed), a splash of almond extract, a splash of vanilla extract, and a few drops of liquid stevia (if you don’t have liquid stevia add your sweetener of choice). Without spilling over the sides, mix with spoon or small whisk until well incorporated. Or you could be smart from the get go and just do all of the mixing in a bowl and pour into ramekin.

Bake at 375 for 20-22 minutes until top of oatmeal is firm.

Once cooled, I left the baked oatmeal in the ramekin, placed all in a large ziploc bag and placed in the fridge. The next morning, I tried the Almond Baked Oatmeal first and reheated the ramekin in the microwave for 30 seconds. Then I checked to make sure that it didn’t blow up and microwaved it for another 30 seconds. Next, I topped it off with a dollop of almond butter. It is very dense, like a muffin and VERY filling!

North Davis-20130130-00391

Chocolate Peanut Butter Baked Oatmeal

Use all of the same ingredients except for the cinnamon and almond extract. Instead, replace with 1 tbsp PB2 and 1 tbsp unsweetened cocoa. Follow same instructions above.

This baked oatmeal came out more moist than the almond baked oatmeal. After I warmed it up this morning, I heated up 1 tbsp maple syrup and poured it on top. O-H M-Y! Delightful. The chocolate and peanut butter flavors are more subtle in this dish. If you like more pronounced flavors, I would just add more cocoa and PB2 or even just put a dollop of peanut butter on top.

The neat thing about this recipe is that you can pretty much throw in whatever you want and give it a try. Add in a scoop of protein powder, fresh or frozen fruit, even an egg white or two for added protein!

I was so excited to eat the Chocolate/PB Baked Oatmela that I forgot to take a picture.

I hate it when that happens.

Eat clean, pump some iron, and be a Fit Fox!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Almond & Chocolate/PB Baked Oatmeal

  1. Tanae cook on said:

    Yay so excited to try! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  2. Oh I love this! I’m totally going to try these this weekend. I have ramekins I got for my wedding…maybe I’ll be able to put them to good use LOL!

Leave a Reply

