BeAFitFox

Clean recipes, Heart pumping Workouts, and Daily Motivation to becoming a Fit Fox!

Freekeh? What did you call me?

Freekehproduct

What the heck is Freekeh (pronounced Free-kah)? I asked this question when I found it in my Conscious Box a couple of months ago.  I decided to play with the recipe today when I realized that I had outlived my quinoa stint and needed a break (does anyone else have the same problem I do? Find something you like and massacre it to death in every single recipe? Just me?).

Before I titillate your taste buds, let me explain what the H Freekeh is. Freekeh is a grain (does have traces of gluten in it) made from roasted green wheat. What I found the most interesting is the nutrition facts. They speak for themselves.

Freekeh                                                                                      Quinoa

1 serving= 1/4 cup                                                                    1 serving= 1/4 cup

Calories=130 g                                                                            Calories=160 g

Fat= 1 g                                                                                           Fat= 2.5 g

Carbs=26 g                                                                                    Carbs=30 g

Fiber= 4 g                                                                                       Fiber=2 g

Protein= 8 g                                                                                   Protein= 6 g

Don’t get me wrong, I am a HUGE Quinoa fan (just check my recipes tab, I really need to get a grip) but I needed a change and Freekeh is it.

With the Freekeh came a recipe card for Curried Freekeh salad and as delightful as that sounded, I wanted to make my own changes to it.

Curried Shrimp & Veggie Freekeh

Ingredients: 8 oz package Freekeh, 2 1/2 cups water or broth, 1 large red pepper (diced), 1 large orange bell pepper (diced), 1/2 bunch asparagus (chopped into 1 inch length), 4 garlic cloves (diced), 5 tbsp curry powder (or more depending on taste), 12 oz frozen medium sized shrimp (thawed or fresh can be used, tails removed), 1 cup frozen peas, 1-2 tbsp olive oil to coat pan, sea salt and pepper to taste.

Pour 2 1/2 cups water (or broth-I stuck with water) AND the Freekeh into a saucepan and bring to a boil. Let boil 1 minute then reduce heat to simmer and cover for 25 minutes. In a large skillet, heat olive oil over medium high heat. Add in red and orange bell peppers, shrimp, asparagus, and peas. Toss for 5-7 minutes (until shrimp turns opaque). Add in curry, sea salt, and pepper and toss until evenly coated. At this point, I added 1/2 cup low sodium vegetable broth, reduce the heat to simmer and let the shrimp and veggies simmer for 5 minutes (uncovered), stirring occasionally.

Freekehveggieshrimp

Freekehmix

Once the Freekeh is cooked, remove from heat and toss Freekeh with the shrimp and vegetable mixture! Enjoy!

Freekehfinished product

You can find Freekeh in most Whole Foods but check their website for locations and/or how to order and if I did a terrible job of explaining what Freekeh is (never set the bar too high) feel free to peruse their site: http://www.freekeh-foods.com.

While I was making this, Matt came up beside me, looked at the package of Freekeh, looked at me then said,”Are you making freaky?”

Bless his heart.

Eat Clean, Pump some Iron, and be a Fit Fox!

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “Freekeh? What did you call me?

  1. thanks for posting about our freekeh! we are thrilled you love it! Feel free to email us and we can send you some coupons!

  2. Freekeh is the most amazing grain out there.. I do weight watchers and I love this as a filling food for my dinner or lunch.. My whole family loves it too we use it in place of rice!

  3. Sylvia Terry on said:

    Hi Amanda!

    This sounds like an interesting dish, and it’s pretty! I seriously doubt I can find “freekah” in Kerrville. I have yet to find Amaranth flour, etc.!

    Your Mom sent me pictures of “your” snow-covered yard! So pretty, but I know it’s so cold!

    I’m anxious to see you, when do you come home again?

    Love you, G-Ma

  4. where can I get this stuff?

  5. or I should have just read the previous post 🙂

  6. Ha! No worries! Yep, from amazon above or direct from Freekeh or even at some select Whole Foods!

Leave a Reply

