BeAFitFox

Clean recipes, Heart pumping Workouts, and Daily Motivation to becoming a Fit Fox!

Our Hippie Thanksgiving

That’s right. I was a hippie. My husband was a hippie. My parents were hippies. That’s how Thanksgiving is done in my family. For as long as I can remember, we’ve never had a traditional Thanksgiving. Instead, we have a themed Thanksgiving and this year we were hippies! In year’s past, we’ve had an Olympic theme (my dad was a swimmer-just try and picture his attire!), Gangster’s (we channeled Tupac for that one), Cowboys vs. Indians, and many more. It’s a very fun and uniqe way to celebrate Thanksgiving.

My husband and I flew down to Austin, TX and enjoyed Thanksgiving day in San Marcos, TX where my parents and sister and brother in law live. Thursday morning we started our Thanksgiving day with a fasted walk. No, this is not a scene from AMC’s “The Walking Dead.” 🙂

My mom, dogs Sadie & Lucky, my dad, my husband, my brother and my sister in law (I was the photo taker!)

As much as I wanted to stuff my face, I showed some reserve but thorougly enjoyed myself with our great “colorful” Hippie themed feast! We started with some bacon and date appetizers-eat your heart out Paleo followers!

Pitted dates stuffed with an almond then wrapped in maple bacon! Baked at 350 for 30-35 minutes. Good heavens! They rocked my face off.

Our lunch spread was mouth watering:

Shrimp casserole, Pork tenderloin stuffed with spinach, feta and apricots, stuffed chicken with sweet potato and cranberries, corn casserole, arugula salad, bean salad, monkey bread, pecan brussel sprouts, broccoli salad and macaroni and cheese. As I non chalantly wiped the drool from my face, I piled my plate high:

I enjoyed a small serving of almost everything on the buffet and found that I was uber stuffed and couldn’t even think about going back for seconds. I could, however, think about dessert! Small slice of pumpkin and pecan pie! Oh my!

Notice the hippie plates!

Now for the fun stuff: my parents did a great job decorating the dining room to make it feel very “That 70’s show” ish!

My very rad parental units:

My peaced out little sister and brother in law (and flower child in the making-due in May!)

My love child little brother and sister in law:

………and Matt and I. Apparently, we found that “bright colors” don’t always mean hippie. We looked like punk rockers. We tried……

My totally rockin’ Aunt and cousins! (My poor Uncle got called out!)

My hippie grandmother surrounded by all of the grandchildren and spouses:

My parents and the children and spouses: Why can’t we ever take a serious picture!?!?!

            

I hope that you all had a GREAT Thanksgiving!

 

 

Eat Clean, Pump some Iron, and be a Fit Fox!

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

