BeAFitFox

Clean recipes, Heart pumping Workouts, and Daily Motivation to becoming a Fit Fox!

Food Prep the Be a Fit Fox Way

I struggled with what the title of this should be. Bulk cooking for a Balla’? Too gangster. Sunday Batch Cooking with Amanda? Too cooking show-esque.

Food Prep the Be A Fit Fox Way is the best that I could do. Deal with it.

I typically cook my meals, prep, on Sundays. It takes me anywhere from 2-3 hours and that’s it! In 2-3 hours, I have my meals for the week made, in their separate containers and baggies, and I leave the kitchen smelling of such sweet aromas of fish and eggs. Ahhhhhh……if only I could bottle up that smell and make it a Scentsy. 🙂

I know that prepping SOUNDS hard and it SOUNDS like it takes  a lot of effort but I am hear to proclaim that it does NOT. It’s easy, takes a little bit of planning, and is actually fun. While I prep my food, I usually jam out with my music blaring or take that time to use my hands free head set to call the grandparents (it’s a twofer!)

For this particular Sunday, I made the following ALL in under 2 hours and using the same 3 pans: 4 servings of Veggie & Black Bean Stew, 3 servings of Citrus Salmon and Lemon Curry Quinoa, 2 servings of steel cut oats, 7 hard boiled eggs, 3 servings of Kale Chips, and 4 servings of Turkey meatballs. That’s a lot of food in a short amount of time. You can do it too, believe me. Here’s how:

I started with the Veggie & Black Bean Stew first:

Heat 1 tbsp EV coconut oil in a large sauce pan. Toss in the following diced vegetables: 1/2 red onion, 1/2 green bell pepper, 1/2 red bell pepper, 1/2 yellow bell pepper, 12-15 baby carrots, 1 small zucchini, 1 small yellow squash, and 3 garlic cloves. Toss for 5 minutes. Add 28 oz diced tomatoes (I like the spicy red pepper one) and 1 can (drained) reduced sodium black beans. I had a poblano pepper in the fridge and I tossed that in for kicks and giggles. I doubt that I will be giggling later-I’ll probably be crying some serious tears due to the heat factor. Moving on. Cover and simmer for 20 minutes, stirring occasionally. Once cooled, place 1.5 cups of stew in containers.

               

While the stew was simmering, I moved on to the Turkey Meatballs:

In one large bowl, I combined the following: 1 lb extra lean ground turkey breast, the other 1/2 of the bell peppers (yellow, red, green), 2 minced garlic cloves, 1 cup old fashioned oats, 3 egg whites, 3 heaping tbsps of Mrs. Dash Salt Free Steak seasoning and 1 large bunch of kale (taken off the stem and shredded). Toss until well mixed (suck it up and use your hands). Form into balls and place into muffin dish. Bake at 375 degrees for 45 minutes (flipping halfway through). I’ll eat 3 of these with spicy mustard and/or organic low sugar ketchup for lunch.

    

After the Veggie & Black Bean Stew and while the Turkey meatballs were baking, I removed the stew from the warmer and using the same hot burner, boiled water and placed 7 eggs into it. Boiled for 12 minutes, removed and dropped into an ice bath. If I can boil eggs, so can you. Feast your eyes on this amazing sight:

After I made the hard boiled eggs, I used the same pan and made 2 servings of Steel Cut Oats. I really enjoy fruit protein smoothies with spinach or egg whites in the morning and make them each day. These 2 servings of steel cut oats will be a nice change in the middle of the week and will more than likely be paired with a banana and 1 hardboiled egg. After the steel cut oats are cooled, I top them with 1 tbsp almond butter and cinnamon and place them in the fridge ready to grab!

    

While the steel cut oats were simmering (they take 25-30 minutes), I used the remaining kale from my turkey meatballs and made Kale chips! Remove the kale leaves from the stem and tear with hands. Lay out the pieces of kale on a large cookie sheet and spritz with EVOO. Top with a little bit of sea salt and black pepper. As soon as the turkey meatballs were out of the oven, I tossed the kale chips in (kept the oven at 375) and baked for about 11 minutes or until the kale was crispy!

     

As soon as the steel cut oats were done simmering, I put each serving into a container, rinsed out the saucepan and used it to make the Lemon Curry Quinoa. For this, I cheated a bit. I bought the Lemon Curry Quinoa in a package (all natural, gluten free)-all you have to do is add hot water and let the quinoa absorb the liquid (about 14 minutes!) EEEEAAASSSSYYYY!!

As soon as the Kale chips were done, I used the same pan and laid out 3 wild caught fresh salmon fillets and topped with Mrs. Dash Salt Free Caribbean Citrus seasoning. With the oven still at 375, I baked the fish for 14 minutes. Once done, I put 1 salmon fillet on top of 2/3 cup serving of the Lemon Curry Quinoa and 3 black pitted olives into a container.

     

In 2 hours, I made this feast:

 

 

For snacks, I have 0% Greek yogurt in which I’ll add 1 tsp wheat germ, chia seeds, flax meal, and 1 Truvia packet. Low fat cottage cheese and cherry tomatoes, almonds and unsalted cashews, and bananas.

Find recipes that you LIKE and that you are COMFORTABLE making. I like to experiment and sometimes it can be a huge colossal failure or the kitchen may catch on fire but either way, I really enjoy prepping my food on Sundays. If you have kids, involve them in your fed prep. Have them measure things out for you. If you are REALLY strapped for time, buy the veggies that are already cut or diced at your local markets.

Don’t see any recipes that you like today? Too bad. Just kidding-I have many more recipes on my recipe tab of my blog and my recipe section of my Be A Fit Fox facebook page-feel free to peruse. Enjoy!

 

Eat clean, pump some iron, and be a Fit Fox!

 

 

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Food Prep the Be a Fit Fox Way

  1. Sylvia Terry on said:

    You go girl!!

    I am going to try the Turkey meatballs. Christy says she really likes them and they are so colorful!

    See you soon, and very soon!

    G-ma

Leave a comment