BeAFitFox

Clean recipes, Heart pumping Workouts, and Daily Motivation to becoming a Fit Fox!

The GISG + Half Marathon training

Before starting the GISG’s 12 week bikini guide, I remember asking Kyra if I could do her program AND train for a half marathon. She replied with an enthusiastic,”Heck YES!” Silly me for even asking……….

I was already 6 weeks into training for the Top of Utah Half Marathon and the thought of adding intense circuit & HIIT to my training sounded painful and delusional like a great challenge!

If you missed my post on how I survived the first week of Kyra’s plan, you can read it here: http://beafitfox.com/2012/07/29/surviving-week-1-of-the-gisg-bikini-guide/

Rest assured that my sex life got back to normal extreme soreness did eventually go away and I was able to enjoy the first 4 weeks of her program. In order to keep with my half marathon training, I axed 2 of her cardio workouts (usually elliptical and stepmill) and replaced it with 2 long distance runs. 1 long distance run consisted of 4-6 miles and the other (ran on Saturday) was anywhere from 8-11 miles.

For the 4 weeks leading up to the Top of Utah Half, I didn’t skip a beat. I ate extremely well, I silently cursed the GISG every time I had to do a pull up, and I welcomed those crazy HIIT sprints on the treadmill. All the while, I actually worried that I wasn’t running enough. I wasn’t getting in enough miles. How was I going to manage running 13.1!?!

Then came Saturday, August 25. My husband and I stayed at a hotel in Logan, Utah and I took the shuttle at 5 AM up the canyon to the start of the race. I ate a small banana on the way up and at 6 AM, I ate a wheat sandwich thin with 2 tbsp peanut butter and honey drizzle and sipped on water. The canyon was a flippin’ freezing 52 degrees and all of us idiots brilliant minds were standing around in our racer back tanks and shorts/capris.

I found the 2:00 pacers and huddled close to them and nearly jumped when the gun went off at 7 AM. I ran hard but comfortable. I chit chat with the 2:00 pacers and enjoyed the cold breeze. I thought about how sweet my neon orange Nikes looked on the black pavement and questioned if I really REALLY had to pee or not. Before I knew it, I was still running with 2:00 pacer group and we had just passed the 7 mile marker. My breathing was consistent and I felt strong! Amazing!

I kept going and going and going. We passed mile marker 11 and my hip flexors started nagging me so I fell behind. For the last 2 miles, I could see the 2:00 pacers sign bouncing up and down as they ran and it pained me not to be with them. I still finished strong with a 2:03 half marathon time!

My PR before that was a 2:17 at that exact same race. I shaved off 14 minutes! What???!!! How???!!!

I’d like to say it was because of my Nikes and the amazing peanut butter I consumed before the race but it wasn’t. It was because of the consistency at which I trained and also, more so, because of those 4 weeks with the GISG. The circuit and HIIT training kept my heart rate up for an extended period of time (an hour to an hour and a half each workout). It got my body used to running at an increased speed. The inches that I lost in my legs after the first 4 weeks was astounding. The leaning out of my quads and development of my calves all aided in my successful run.

So, if you’re wanting to lose weight, get fit, tone up, or even run a half or full marathon, I would recommend the GISG’s 12 week bikini guide. It’s not a polite guide, it’s an in your face-you’ve-got-to-push-yourself kind of workout and I would expect nothing less from the GISG. You can find her guide here: http://5ec712tlrj51bmdpjdl6x49x0h.hop.clickbank.net/

I’m making it through week 5 now by reapplying my deodorant halfway through the workouts. You do what you’ve gotta do.


Eat clean, pump some iron, and be a Fit Fox!

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “The GISG + Half Marathon training

  1. Nice work my friend!!!! It’s because of these circuits and HIIT that I am able to run half marathons without any long distance training since I hate long runs. Now it’s time to focus on that booty and muscle building on the step mill. Holllaaaaaaa

  2. I hear ya! Oh.the.stepmill……we’re going to be great friends. 🙂

  3. So I have a question… I’ve really let myself go. Like to the tune of needing to drop 90 lbs. My cardio isn’t what it used to be (obvs) but its not awful either. I was getting back into running recently and was able to go 2 miles with minimal walking. Do you think this workout will be way too extreme for me? I would love to try it but I’m worried that I’m not fit enough to get fit! ha!

    • Great job on the running Liss! Keep it up! You know, that is a tough question but I’ll give you my honest to goodness feedback. The GISG 12 week bikini guide is tough and it will push you. There are things on her circuits that I had never even heard or done before BUT she has a guide at the beginning of her guide book that has what each exercise is which is EXTREMELY helpful (I use it frequently). I am also a big fan of the Jamie Eason LiveFit program (search for it on http://www.bodybuilding.com). Her’s is also a 12 week program, free, and she incorporates basic weight training (and no cardio for the first 4 weeks). I would start there and give it a try for the entire 12 weeks or just a few weeks then move to the GISG’s plan. Both are completely different and will push you in different ways. I hope that helps!

      • I was just looking at Jamie’s plan! I think I’ll start there and see where it takes me.

        How long are the GISG workouts?

        BTW, I love reading your blog! I can’t remember how I found you but I’m glad I did. 🙂

  4. Hi Liss! Let me know how you like Jamie’s plan and if you have any questions. I didn’t do all 12 weeks but pulled specific workouts out of it here and there to do and really enjoyed them. The GISG workouts are anywhere from 1 hour to 1 1/2 hours (including cardio) and they make you SWEAT! Thank you for the kind words. I know I’ve been a bit slower at posting but life has been crazy busy. I hope to have more posts up in the next coming weeks. Enjoy the long holiday weekend!

  5. Pingback: My 1 Year Blogiversary | BeAFitFox

Leave a Reply

