BeAFitFox

Clean recipes, Heart pumping Workouts, and Daily Motivation to becoming a Fit Fox!

Vegas Shenanigans

They say that what happens in Vegas, stays in Vegas but I think that that is complete bull. What happens in Vegas, follows you all the way home. Whatever do you mean by that, you ask?? Because it was 100 degrees, I wore summer dresses and skirts the entire trip. What does that mean for someone with inner thighs that touch? Yep, I have a thigh rash. It burns and it’s red and I have even contemplated putting on band-aids. Maybe this is too much information but I HAVE to believe that there is someone out there that knows EXACTLY what I speak of. 🙂

This 3 day weekend trip to Las Vegas was to celebrate the matramony of Matt & Amanda Fox and for still liking each other after 4 years of wedded bliss. I DID NOT pack a cooler and I did that for 2 reasons. 1) To challenge myself to eat clean while eating out & 2) To enjoy myself in Las Vegas. I did pack 3 servings of almonds and 2 Larabars as a back up.

As far as exercise, The Get in Shape Girl’s 12 week Bikini Guide Friday workout is cardio. I did my 9 mile run early Friday morning and finished in 1 hr 29 minutes. Not my fastest 9 miles but I’ll take it. We didn’t leave to go to Vegas until 3 PM so I was able to eat clean from home and our first meal in Sin City was dinner. We ate at T&T inside the Luxor before seeing Criss Angels “Believe” & “O” by Cirque du Soleil.

Friday 7 PM dinner

I enjoyed shrimp ceviche and guacamole for dinner and it was AH-MAZING! I ate 16 chips with the guac and had 1 glass of red wine. Over the course of both shows Friday night, I had one more glass of red wine and that was it.

Saturday

Now, with The Get In Shape Girls 12 week plan, Saturday is a pretty tough weight workout plus cardio but in following that plan that would mean that I would’ve had to pack my gym shoes and workout clothes. Let’s face it, making room for those things would mean less room for my heels and that just wasn’t going to happen. Instead, I took Saturday as my rest day and completed the workout and cardio this afternoon (Sunday) when I got home.

I was STARVING when I woke up Saturday morning and ate a Larabar first thing at 7:30 AM:

Matt was still asleep so I did what every normal woman would do by herself at 7:30 AM-I went down to the slots at our hotel, The Bellagio, and threw away so much cash so fast that I was scrambling to come up with an elaborate tale to tell my husband. What I ended up with was that I was the 2nd seat in a hold ’em tournament, was up $400 and went all in with a pocket pair and lost it all. Matt didn’t even ask (he’s so sweet) so I did not get to tell my story until just now. Truth be told, I blame Texas Tea for my failures.

Matt met me for breakfast at 9 AM at Cafe Bellagio. I ordered a 3 egg omelet with tomatoes, yellow and green bell peppers, and avocado and finished about half. Instead of hashbrowns, I asked for sliced tomato and also enjoyed 1 slice of whole wheat toast with a smear of blueberry perserve and a cup of black coffee.

I don’t know if it was the heat, losing money so fast, or what but I was not hungry for the rest of the day and I did the WORST thing. I didn’t eat. I carried around the almonds in my purse but couldn’t persuade myself to eat them until about 3:30 PM. Not good, as you need to keep your body fueled and your metabolism amped by eating every 2-3 hours. Even playing slots and sitting at a black jack table for 3 hours sipping bottled water like a true playa……..I wasn’t hungry.

We went to dinner at a GREAT sushi restaurant inside the Bellagio called YellowTail. Matt and I ordered a half bottle of St.Supery red wine and split the half bottle as well as an order of sea salt and sweet chile edamame. We also split some “rock shrimp” which was a bowl of fried shrimp slathered in a spicy chile sauce.

We each ordered 1 roll-I ordered the red dragon roll and slathered so much wasabi on it that I was breathing fire and my eyes would not stop watering-the perfect sushi experience! 🙂

The rest of the night my stomach was a bit of a mess and I can chalk it up to the rock shrimp for sure but it was great and worth the stomach cramps and bloat. 🙂

We went to Holly Madison’s Peep Show and I enjoyed another glass of red wine and while at the black jack tables later that night, I had 2 vodka waters. Who orders watered down vodka? My sister, Megan, and I. Is it enjoyable? Not particularly but it SAVES you a plethora of calories and keeps you from getting trashed too quickly. This was a good thing since after seeing the Peep Show, I believe that my new calling in life is to become a stage dancer and if I would have continued to drink, my dream of taking the stage may have come a bit too soon and at the unfortunate expense of pedestrians.

Sunday

At 7:30 AM I was eating my Larabar on my way to play The Sex in the City & The Hangover slots JUST ONE MORE TIME.  To my surprise, Matt was up and ready to eat by 8:30 AM. I ordered a 3 egg omelet again but this time with alaskan king crab, asparagus, tomatoes, and mozz cheese. When the omelet came out, I wondered to myself if I should ask if I could have eggs with that mozzarella cheese. Good heavens, it was SWIMMING in cheese. I ate about half of the omelet, the entire bowl of fruit, 1 slice of whole wheat toast with strawberry perserves, and a black cup of coffee.

Again, I was so incredibly full and as appetizing as raw almonds are, I couldn’t force myself to eat any. I didn’t eat again until we were home at 3 PM and I enjoyed 1 cup of 0% plain greek yogurt with PB2 and 1 chia jam filled protein muffin.

As exhausted as we were from the quick trip, I still had to go to the grocery store and prep my food!

Because it was so late in the afternoon, I only made turkey chili, Jamie Eason’s pumpkin protein bars, easy cold bean salad, baked tilapia, and chopped up some bell peppers, butternut squash, string green beans, and made sure to have plenty of spinach on hand. I know that sounds like a lot but once you get the hang of things, it only takes 2-3 hours to get it done!

   

*I will post recipes tomorrow!

All in all, I think I did pretty good with eating clean(ish) while eating out and losing living it up in Vegas and as much as I wish that I was bringing some benjamins home, the fun memories, the shows, and the thigh rash are enough. 🙂

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

