BeAFitFox

Clean recipes, Heart pumping Workouts, and Daily Motivation to becoming a Fit Fox!

To Cheat or Not To Cheat

Calm down people, I’m referring to meals, not relationships. I’ve been asked many times, “How often do you have a cheat meal?” “Do you cheat once a week or once a month?” “Do you have a cheat DAY?”(good heavens, really?? A whole day of eating terrible)

My answer 5 months ago, would’ve been,”Yes, I have a cheat meal once per week.” But now my answer is ,”No, I don’t have cheat MEALS, I enjoy a cheat SNACK.” 5 months ago I was still eating clean and exercising but I found that I wanted to reward myself and when fist pumps no longer worked, I found a cupcake shop. And not just A cupcake shop, THE best cupcake shop on the entire planet (they even won Cupcake Wars!). My husband and I started going to the cupcake shop every Saturday and I would get 1 Raspberry Lemonade cupcake and 1 FairyFetti cake bite and that would be my treat. But then I started to get 2 cupcakes (one for Saturday and one for Sunday), how bad could that be? After doing this for a few months, I found that I craved cupcakes and my body NEEDED that sugar. That’s when I realized that I was in trouble and could potentially head back to my old days. We would go out to eat and I would get a clean-ish cheat meal (i.e. grilled salmon with veggies/rice, half a bottle of wine, and a slice or two of buttered bread-gasp!) Hey-it was my cheat meal. THEN we would go and get a cupcake (or cupcakes-eek!) I knew that I had a serious cupcake problem when we went in one Saturday and the girl behind the counter said,”I haven’t seen you in a while! Do you want the usual?”

EPIC FAIL!

I don’t want the cupcake shop to know what my “usual” is! For the love! I stopped then. I stopped because I realized that my cheat meals often became cheat evenings and the extra 300-400 calories in that cupcake was pure sugar and I was poisoning my body all over again. I was training my body to CRAVE sugar and that was a road that I didn’t want to go down again.

So, am I saying that you can’t have cupcakes anymore? What??!! Of course not. I’m just telling you that it probably shouldn’t be a WEEKLY indulgence. So, what is the right answer? I don’t have one-I know what works for me and I am hopeful that it will give you clear direction to finding what works for you. I stopped doing the cheat meals because they made me feel sluggish and gross and instead of wrapping my arms around my husband after our date night, I was wrapping my arms around porcelain instead.

Last week, I didn’t have a cheat meal or even a cheat snack instead I split 1 bottle of red wine with my husband for our Saturday night dinner and that’s it. That was my only cheat. If you don’t believe me, you can read my food journal (I can scan it). I will probably have a cupcake or just a cakebite in a few weeks or a couple of months when I feel like eating one. Why? Because if I tell myself that I can’t EVER have another cupcake or cakebite EVER AGAIN, then I would more than likely go and buy stock in that company and become part of their cupcake taste panel.

YOU are much stronger than you think. You can have a clean and healthy lifestyle with the occasional indulgence. If I can say no to a cupcake, then you can too.

Disclaimer: I am not a registered Dietitian. I have a degree in Nutritional Science which doesn’t mean that I can give out sound medical advice. It means that I can still draw the Kreb cycle on a dry erase board. đŸ™‚

Eat Clean, pump some iron, and Be a Fit Fox!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

