BeAFitFox

Clean recipes, Heart pumping Workouts, and Daily Motivation to becoming a Fit Fox!

Prepping for Clean Travel

2 posts in 1 day? My heavens! 🙂 Traveling can get you in a lot of trouble with the airport food, business lunches, bars at the hotels, etc. The best way to eat clean is to pack clean! And here is how I do it:

I am leaving tomorrow morning for an overnight trip to Phoenix. My flight is at 7:15 AM (UGH!) and I won’t return home until late Thursday night which means that I have to prep for 2 days worth of food. Because my flight is so early, I had to prep my food tonight and have it ready to go so that all I have to do at 5:30 AM tomorrow is brush my teeth and put the food in my cooler. Brushing your teeth is optional but highly recommended. 🙂

There are a lot of coolers out there and there is even one called Six Pack that looks AMAZING. It is also an amazing $60 so I am quite content with my large cooler that I got from Wal-Mart that cost me a whole $14.96. Don’t be jealous.

It can hold a lot but I couldn’t get a good picture of the inside. When I have everything packed in, I will take a picture. Just an FYI too, TSA will allow the gel packs as long as they are FROZEN! If they are squishy/melting, then they make you throw them away.

I pre-cut my veggies and put them into baggies:

I’ve got 4 large carrots peeled and the ends cut off, 2 sliced red bell peppers, about 5 mini sweet peppers, 15 cherry (sunburst) tomatoes, 2 servings unsalted shelled pistachios, 2 servings plain almonds, 1 cup diced squash (steamed and covered with cinnamon), 1 Larabar, and 2 scoops of Vega Oh Natural protein powder inside a baggie inside my Blender bottle.

I also took 1 sweet potato, rinsed and cut into thin slices and laid out onto a greased baking sheet. Spritzed EVOO on them and sprinkled a generous amount of black pepper and Mrs.Dash Salt free table blend then baked on 350 for 15 min, flipped, then 15 min more. Once they cooled, I put the sweet potato “chips” into a ziploc baggie.

I’ve also got 6 turkey meatballs (3 per bag), 1 Starkist Tuna Light lunch to go, and small containers of low sugar ketchup and dijon mustard (as long as it’s under 3 oz you are good).

I also made PowerCakes “Chia Jam Filled Power Muffins” and they are just about the most amazing things I have ever had. Once cooled, I put 2 of them in a baggie and in the fridge to take with me tomorrow. You can find PowerCakes recipe here: http://powercakes.net/coconut-flour-chia-jam-filled-power-muffins/

I’ve also made my breakfast smoothie for tomorrow so that I can just grab it and drink it while driving to the airport:

Smoothie: 1 banana, 1 scoop Vega protein powder, 1 tbsp fiber powder, 1 handful spinach, and 8 oz unsweetened almond milk mixed and put into my to go cup and in the fridge. I will also be munching on some delightful vanilla almond “bread”. I will post the recipe for that when I get back. I don’t have some other items pictured but they will be included in my next post.

So, now I think it is safe to assume that you are all starving and/or on your way to Wal-Mart right now to grab a lunch box as cool as mine. Prepping takes time and effort but believe me, it is WORTH it. Aside from 1 business lunch and probably 2-3 Starbucks stops for a Venti unsweetened iced green tea, I will only eat what I packed with me. When I get back, I will post what I ate/how I paired it all. Paired-ha, it makes me sound like I am doing a clean eating version of a wine pairing. I miss wine…….

Eat Clean, Pump some Iron, and Be a Fit Fox!

 

 

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Prepping for Clean Travel

  1. Thank you so much for the posts about what you eat and recipes. I just get stuck in a rut and then don’t know what to eat. I need some variety badly. Love you blog. I’m trying to get into clean eating and pushing myself alot harder with my workouts. It’s motivating to find others that are doing it. 🙂

  2. Esther @ fitandfierce4life.blogspot.com on said:

    You may need trientas for your green tea!! It is HOT here in PHX : )

  3. Pingback: A Day in the Life of the Traveling Clean Eater « BeAFitFox

Leave a Reply

