BeAFitFox

Clean recipes, Heart pumping Workouts, and Daily Motivation to becoming a Fit Fox!

A Day in the Life of Clean Travel……and when it goes south!

Thursday was a quick 1 night stay in Little Rock, Arkansas. Little did I know, that 1 night stay would turn into a 2 night stay getting stuck in Denver last night! Son of a biscuit eater-WHY????!!!!!! All I wanted to do was to be home Friday night to spend the weekend with my husband before flying out again on Monday……….but no such luck. I planned right with my packed clean foods and workout clothes but didn’t pack enough for an extended stay at the airport. I usually pack a cooler but my cooler is MIA and my husband had taken his lunch pack to work Thursday so I had to improvise. I did so by packing the following foods:

1 sweet potato, cherry tomatoes, banana, frozen grapes, 1 tuna packet, 2 scoops whey protein powder, 2 Larabars, and a bag of almonds. That would get me through Meal 5 at the airport Thursday afternoon, dinner Thursday night, post workout fuel, and Meal 2 at the airport returning home Friday early afternoon (lunch catered for work).

After my meeting, I had an hour before needing to head to the airport so I headed to Whole Foods to grab lunch! Who can resist a cold, refreshing Kombucha AND a rock your face off salad from the Whole Foods salad bar????? Not me!

Lunch was catered for us Friday and I was looking forward to some fun options. When I looked at the options, I found that I was severly limited! They had a little salad bar and tons of the following: fried okra, fried chicken, sausage, pork n beans, grilled green beans (thank heavens!), sauteed peppers (count my lucky stars!), cornbread, bread pudding, and cherry cobbler. For the love! Thus, my lunch yesterday consisted of salad greens with a drizzle of Italian dressing, green beans, and the sauteed peppers. Appetizing, eh?

I just had 2 more meetings after lunch then headed to the airport to happily head back home to Utah Friday afternoon. Little did I know that the storms in Houston and Chicago were causing ridiculous delays. My flight from Little Rock to Denver was delayed 3 hours so naturally I missed my connection in Denver to get me back to Utah (story of my life!). At this point, I am quite saddened and a bit freaked because the only food that I had left was a few almonds! Curse! I finally made it to Denver and was booked at a nearby Marriot. Once I got to the hotel (about 9 pm), I still hadn’t eaten dinner, I was ticked, tired, and my face was so incredibly oil I was literally dripping (too much to share? probably) The bar at the Marriot was open and after looking at the menu, I decided that my best option would be to see what they had in their little “market” section. At 9:15 PM, my dinner at the Marriot was a Clif bar, 1 pop tart, and 500 mL of water. Not my proudest moment of clean eating-ism but it was okay for me.

Sitting at the Denver airport this morning waiting to board to head back home, I did stop and buy Oxygen’s collector’s issue “Glutes” (oh happy day!) on my way to the gate.

My lesson shared here is that you should always have a PLAN and when that plan changes, you do have the right to get ticked and eat 1 Pop Tart (JUST ONE!) but still stay on track.

Enjoy your weekend and as always: Eat clean, pump some iron, and be a Fit Fox!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

