BeAFitFox

Clean recipes, Heart pumping Workouts, and Daily Motivation to becoming a Fit Fox!

My run away from the In Laws………and a NEW RECIPE!

This past Friday afternoon marked the beginning of my week long vacation……………….with my in laws. Now, I love my in laws-they are great people but they’re wound up pretty tight and don’t know how to relax and just breathe. It is my sole mission in life to teach them this. Thus, my husband-a lover of all things Italian and a great chef of all things GREASY and Italian- made his special meatballs and own sauce for his parents in an attempt to get them to start relaxing. Spaghetti and meatballs can get you in TROUBLE but I have a few tricks: 1) eat dinner on a salad plate, 2) cover the salad plate with a mound of fresh spinach, 3) place 1/2 cup noodles, a little bit of sauce, and 2 meatballs on top of the spinach. Instead of the caesar salad, I opted for my grilled grean beans instead!

Image

Now, the first night with my in laws did end up being relaxing. We sat outside on the back porch and shared a bottle of one of our favorite reds, Orin Swift’s The Prisoner. We even grabbed Sonny and wen’t out for a walk and found ourselves in bed at a nice 10:30 PM. Saturday morning came with a planned 5 mile run and I was ready. It was incredibly windy and I felt like I ran over half of it compeltely hunched over just trying to move forward. My time is not the most impressive but I ran my little heart out, wind and all!

Image

After the run is when I started to want to pull my hair out………….for reasons that I will not share only because I hope that my mother in law does read these posts! 🙂 It is just a hectic, everyone talking over each other kind of time. So, I did what any normal daughter in law would do. I decide to make a new recipe at 8:30 AM in the morning claiming that I HAD to do it for my readers. 😉 May I introduce my Turkey Quinoa Chili:

Image

Ingredients:

1 LB extra lean ground turkey breast

1 can reduced sodium spicy diced tomotoes

1 can reduced sodium black beans, rinsed

1/4 cup red wine vinegar

1 tbsp Mrs.Dash Salt Free Table Blend

1/4 cup dry Quinoa

Black pepper to taste

1/2 sliced avacado as topping

Brown ground turkey breast. Add diced tomatoes (including juice), rinsed black beans, red wine vinegar, table blend spice, and quinoa. Once boiling, reduce heat and let simmer for 20 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add black pepper if needed and an avacado and enjoy!

I hear in the distance that they want to play Monopoly Deal now……….funny thing, I feel another run coming on………………….. 🙂

 

Eat clean, pump some iron, and be a Fit Fox!

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

