BeAFitFox

Clean recipes, Heart pumping Workouts, and Daily Motivation to becoming a Fit Fox!

My Spice Affair

Yes, you read that right. I’m having an affair. I sneak behind my husband’s back and throw in 2 new flavors of Mrs.Dash salt free seasoning into the grocery basket when he isn’t looking. I hide about 10 seasonings and herbs in the pantry because I fear if he finds my “stash” that my affair will be exposed. When he boasts that his sauce is extra extraordinary today, I just smile and say “Yes, honey” while knowing that I dumped about 2 tbsp of chopped basil, chipotle seasoning, and paprika while he was outside feeding the dog. Maybe the word “affair” is too much? You decide for yourself:

Image

My spice rack was a wedding gift 4 years ago and I am pretty sure that I have refilled each container about a dozen times:

Image

My spice affair started about 1 1/2 years ago when I found Tosca Reno and her Eat Clean books lifestyle. I found that just a tablespoon of this or a teaspoon of that could bring out the greatest flavor in all foods: meats, veggies, even egg whites! I started putting seasoning and fresh herbs on EVERYTHING. Below are a few examples:

Last night’s dinner consisted of 2 zucchini, 2 yellow squash, and 1/2 butternut squash diced thrown in to a pan with EVOO and some basil, parsley, and a plethora of Mrs.Dash Salt Free Tomato Basil Garlic seasoning. I literally stood over the stove and ate directly out of the pan! Who says that I don’t have class??? šŸ™‚

Image

One of my Go To meals is grilled salmon and quinoa-my two favorite things on this earth (don’t tell the spices I said that). Bragg’s liquid amino acids give the fish great flavor but I still love to mix in some thyme, ground fennel seed, and Mrs.Dash Salt Free Chipotle seasoning!

Image

I do have a mad crush on butternut squash and because I married a meat eating man, I get pork chops about once every two weeks. Of course, the pork chops were lathered in Mrs.Dash Extra Spicy seasoning and a little of her Fiesta Lime (it will rock your face off) and the perfect pairing to the pork chops was diced butternut squash with an incredibly large amount of cinnamon. Overboard much? I don’t think so.

Image

Why do I love spices and seasonings (salt free!) and herbs: because they’re like little vitamins with extraordinary health benefits and they have amazing flavor. Read this article from the Huffington post about the top 8 spices and start incorporating them into your diet today!

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2011/11/10/spices-health_n_1085099.html

Just be careful, before you know it, you’ll be sneaking around too and starting your own spice affair…………………………. šŸ™‚

Eat Clean, Pump some iron, & be a Fit Fox.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

